Noshcon Awards

Noshcon’s grand finale was announced by Nosa’s CEO, Duncan Carlisle.

The following is a summary of the awards that were given to both companies and individuals at this year’s event. Hats off to these SHEQ superstars! southern Africa.


• Sector A: Agriculture, hunting, forestry, and fishing
Illovo Sugar
Iningi Ivestments Van Eeden Projects Trust
FTH Trust/Ntaba Forestry/Khuthele Forestry

• Sector B: Health and social work, other community, social and personal services
Noscar: Jones & Wagener
FPT Group Cape Town terminal

• Sector C: Mining and quarrying
SamQuarz – Delmas
Paladin Kayelekera Mine

• Sector C3: Quarries, works, surface plants and workshops
Afrisam South Africa, Brakpan plant

• Sector D1: Food product manufacturing, beverages and tobacco
Noscar: Illovo Sugar Syrup plant

• Sector D2: Textile manufacturing
Dynamic Fibre Products
Masonite Africa Limited Estcourt Mill

• Sector D3: Manufacture of coke, refined petroleum products, nuclear fuel, chemical and man-made fibres
Quality Products – Chloorkop

• Sector D4: Manufacture of non-metallic products, and plastic
Noscar: Hamon J & C Engineering
Noscar: Transwire

• Sector D5: Manufacture of sugar
Tongaat Hulett Sugar South Africa Refinery
Tongaat Hulett Triangle

• Sector D6: Manufacture of sugar products
KK Animal Nutrition

• Sector E: Electricity, gas and water supply
Lepelle Northern Water Doorndraai Plant
Noscar: Eskom Peaking Portfolio   Ankerlig Power Station
Noscar: Proconics Secunda

• Sector F: Construction
Noscar: SGB Cape Vaal

• Sector I: Transport storage and communication
S.T.O.N.E.S Plant Hire Sasolburg
Noscar: Timber Logistics Services
Sociedale Terminal de Accar de Maputo
Transnet Freight Rail Container & Automotive – Pretcon Container-Capital

• Sector J: Marine activities, services not elsewhere specified
Bidfreight Port Operations – Durban Stevedores
South African Container Stevedores

• Top Commercial: Jet Demolition

• Top Manufacturing: Transwire

• Top Mining: Idwala Witpoort Ottosdal


The Nosa awards were handed out amidst thunderous applause.• SHE REP
Me Mndaba, Bidfreight Port Operations

• SHE Specialist/Facilitator
Nita Muller, Air Products

• Group SHE Risk Manager
Louis Jacobs, Eskom Peaking Operating Unit

• Occupation Health Nursing
Henrita Beukes, Tronox Namakwa Sands

• Occupational Medicine Practitioner
Dr Andrew Sithole, Tongaat Hulett Hippo Valley Estates

• Division Director responsible for SHE
Kobus Visagie, SGB Cape

• Group SHE Risk Manager Mining
Delilah Thite (BCL)

• SHE Risk Manager Mining
Roy Liesching, Kayelakera Paladin

• General Manager/Managing Director
Jacques de Wet, Idwala Witpoort Ottosdal

• Environmental Manager
Matthew du Start, Transnet Port Terminals

• Environmental Co-ordinator
Peter Nenutamvuni, Afrisam Brakpan Plant

• Occupational Health Practitioner
Sheila Breedt, Illovo Sugar, Eston Mill

• SHE Officer of the Year
Elizabeth Molatsi, Continental Beverages

• Corporate SHE Manager
Nene Mkhize, Transnet Freight Rail

• Executive responsible for SHE
Clifford Raphiri, South African Breweries

• SHE Co-ordinator
Valerie van der Slik, Lepelle Northern Water

Published by

SHEQ Management

SHEQ MANAGEMENT is the definitive source for reliable, accurate and pertinent information to guarantee environmental health and safety in the workplace.
Showing how it’s done
Prev Showing how it’s done
Next Science fiction or fact?
Science fiction or fact?